I’m in a Book!!

PORTLAND MADE_COVER_lowres

Here it is, the cover image of the book for which I am Contributing Writer- woohoo! (is “woohoo” too unprofessional? Do I care?)

I have been sitting on my hands for months not spilling the beans to  everyone I know, anxiously waiting for the official press release that would signal my ability to finally tell the good news and help spread the word about the book.

As some of you know, for the last several months I have been writing profiles of some of Portland’s innovative makers of one-of-a-kind products and innovative businesses for the Portland Made Collective website; some of those (and more besides) are part of Kelley Roy’s new book Portland Made: New American Makers of the Manufacturing Renaissance. 

You can preorder the book starting July 1st. It is scheduled to hit the shelves sometime in the fall of 2015. I will keep you updated here, definitely! Everyone should get a copy (no, I don’t get royalties, I’ve already been paid – I just think it’s going to be a great and inspiring book).

It has been a blast, talking with such a creative bunch of people, hearing their stories, being caught up in their infectious enthusiasm for what they’re creating. The challenge is keeping each profile within the desired word count! It is amazing to discover the thrum of creativity that is hived here in Portland. Come to find out, Portland is one of the leading, driving forces of the Maker Movement, of the redefining of American Manufacturing. Pretty exciting stuff. I’m really quite pleased and honored to be a part of spreading the word.

To find out more about this book and Portland’s Maker Movement, click here.

3 thoughts on “I’m in a Book!!

Leave a Reply

