Finding Words

IMG_0441

I am a writer. Words and stories are the internal thrumming of much of my life. Yet in the face of still more acts of unthinkable physical and spiritual destruction, an accumulation  to our collective pool of anger, divisiveness, hatred and violence, I have been at a loss for words.

I, like many people  – of all skin colors, nationalities, backgrounds, religions and occupations – search to find a way toward a sort of equilibrium. A place from which we can finally have the long-overdue conversations, and correctly demand the needed changes to help heal the broken parts of our world.

Fortunately, there are many who are finding words and giving voice to this deep need. Some I know personally, many I have never met; all help buoy my aching heart a little, and I am extremely grateful to them all. Here are two:

  • Krista Tippett, who is thoughtful and wise and is never afraid to look at the hard questions with a heart full of compassion.
  • My friend Suzy Banks Baum, who has the ability to bring forth things that are important with a laser-sharp, deep-hearted elegance.

And there are so many more.

I invite you to find those voices that speak to our best selves, not those that try to keep us hamstrung and hopeless with fear; that challenge us to look deeply into our own hearts and ask the hard questions – with compassion – that will lead us toward real and lasting change, into a healthier world in which we all have a place.

Leave a Reply

